157 replies to this topic

#1 hurtin_albertan

hurtin_albertan

East of the Rockies, West of the rest

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,235 posts

Posted 28 March 2011 - 08:31 AM

With golf season in Canada just around the corner and the professional tours in full swing (no pun intended), I thought I'd re-create the golf thread we had on the old forum last summer where users posted their thoughts on all things golf, including scores, handicaps, equipment reviews, etc, and especially course reccomendations. I know for sure that I played the Sundre course by reccomendation from somebody, and Peeps enjoyed Water Valley at my reccomendation.

As it's still a tad early in the season and Calgary just had another weekend of snow, I'll start it off by saying that I'm absolutely itching to get on the course. I've been playing for around 15 years, most of which saw me get in a few intoxicated rounds per season and shoot in the 100-110 range. Last season I made a commitment to play more, practice more, learn more, etc; made huge strides in correcting my chronic slice while adding a 2007 Taylor Made Burner driver to my bag; and ended the season with 17 rounds and a 22 handicap. I plan on obliterating those marks this season! :D I've also priced and tested out new irons, fairway woods, and wedges to continue my purge of the crappy Costco clubs I got 10 years ago, so more on that as the season goes.

My top 3 favorite courses from last season were:

1. D'Arcy Ranch, Okotoks AB - $70 weekday and weekend.
http://www.darcyranc...om/bookings.htm

2. Water Valley, Cremona AB - $45 weekday, $57 weekend. Great course, unbeatable price, 45 minutes from downtown Calgary. http://www.watervall...ca/booking.html