The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

The_People1

Darts

I just started playing darts.

Does anyone else play?  Any tips on dart choice, throw methods, stance, and consistency?  What beer helps with performance the most?  Thanks.

Does anyone else play?  Any tips on dart choice, throw methods, stance, and consistency?  What beer helps with performance the most?  Thanks.

A few tips:

• Aim for the bullseye, its the only part of the board worth any reaction to your friends and fellow drunk pubsters.
  • Throw only one at a time, they aren't :ph34r: stars.  The only star here is you.
  • Use only one hand when throwing them, unless they are too heavy.  Then you can use the popular "two hands between your legs" stance, like kids do in bowling.
  • Recoop your body's energy after the rigorous physical labor of each turn with a drink of beer.
  • The more drunk you are, the better you'll get.
  • Hire a few cheerleaders.  It's a great confidence booster

Looks like you are all set.  Oh, the recommended beer of choice.  Well that's easy....

st-patricks-day-graphics-guiness-beer.jp

It adds a new element to the game if you take some lighter fluid and set the board ablaze first...   Word of caution though, your local pub may frown at this idea...

2e2016b510e6f0efee494d2120126d84.png

I'm no expert but I have played some darts in the past.  As a matter of fact, it used to be part of my game day ritual when I was a smoker.  In between periods, usually of important games, I'd go my garage, light up a smoke or two (not at the same time) and play darts.

Dart choice: I think it's mostly a matter of personal preference although some darts are clearly better than others.  The cheaper darts tend to get dull faster and the wings have a habit of coming out pretty easily.  I prefer a heavier dart.